The John Russell Bartlett Society is a group of Rhode Island book collectors, book crafts-people, and book readers who meet periodically for the purpose of engaging in good talk about books as objects.

The Society’s interests extend to the entire history of books in every country and period. The membership includes librarians, crafts-people, students, faculty, designers, printers, collectors, and bibliophiles in general, all of whom enjoy informal lectures and stimulating discussion concerning the arts of the book.

OFFICERS 2020-2021
President: Rick Ring
Vice President: Paul Selwyn
Immediate Past President: Claudia Covert
Treasurer: Holly Snyder
Secretary : Sean Briody
Stillwell Prize Chair: Kate Wodehouse
John Carter Brown Library Representative: Maddie Mott
John Hay Library Representative: Holly Snyder

Phoebe Bean
George Sargent
Whitney Pape

Stay up-to-date with Bartlett Society events (and other area events of interest to bibliophiles) by adding your email address to our mailing list. Send an email to to be added. You can also follow us on Facebook. We depend on the support of our members! Please join today.